How to store Global Time

Hi All,

I am a beginner. In my customer place they have a third party application. It stores user's local time into the database. That's why when I query the database from the database level, I get user's local time rather than global or centralized time.

Is there any solution available in SQL server level, which can handel this issue and store global/centralized time in the backend database?

If you had the option of changing the query that writes the time, you could use GETUTCDATE() function (instead of the likely GETDATE() that they are using).

If you are not able to do that, then, you can calculate the UTC time using the following:

SELECT DATEADD(mi, DATEDIFF(mi,GETDATE(),GETUTCDATE()), YourDateColumn))
FROM YourTable

But, if you are in a place that uses daylight savings time, this will be incorrect when you run the query to convert a value if the daylight savings time was in effect when the date was stored and currently you are in non-daylight savings time (and vice versa).

You can correct for that as well, but for that you will need a table that indicates the daylight savings time switch over dates.

Unless you know what the time zone of each user was, at the time the entry was made, I'm not sure you have much hope.