WHERE SUBSTRING(Field,#,#) like (@Parameter)

Hi, I am new to sql and testing a small project so I can understand how the paramater using "like" in the WHERE clause works.

Here are the values from @NewID parameter: B001NEW,C002NEW,C003NEW,C004NEW,C005NEW,C006NEW,C007NEW, and so on.

@NewID is pulling from a field called "InventoryPart" and the data type is nvarchar(7).
"InventoryPart" has 768 total distinct records.

Here is my SELECT statement:

DECLARE @NewID NVARCHAR(7)
SET @NewID = '035'

SELECT WarehouseID as Warehouse, WarehousePhone as Phone, SUBSTRING(InventoryPart, 2, 4) as Part, Price
FROM CARINVENTORYPARTS
WHERE SUBSTRING(InventoryPart,2,4) like (@NewID)
ORDER BY SUBSTRING(InventoryPart, 2, 4)

Currently, this query wont execute because of the SUBSTRING(InventoryPart,2,4) like (@NewID) in my where clause.
So, here are my questions:
How do update above query so it will run with single value parameter and multiple parameter and all parameter?

Anyone can help me?

Thank you

You can either use Dynamic SQL, which I don't recommend here if the parameter is "public facing" and you do nothing to check for SQL Injection, or you can split the parameter using an iTVF (Inline Table Valued Function... much more performant than mTVFs, multi-statement Table Valued Functions), or you can use Table Valued Parameters, or you could use an SQL CLR splitter.

Before I can make a recommendation, what is the maximum byte length of @Parameter that you would expect?

To match "035" in positions 2-to-4 you can do

WHERE InventoryPart LIKE '_' + '035' + '%'

'_' will match any character
'%' will match zero or more [any] characters

So you could do

WHERE InventoryPart LIKE '_' + @NewID + '%'

However, it is pretty inefficient :frowning:

Better would be to have additional columns for the various "parts" of the InventoryPart so taht you can query them individually, and they can be indexed etc.