Verifying Backups

Does anyone out there verify their backups?

We're thinking about doing this. But I'm questioning if it's necessary. I've never had an SQL Server restore fail. (except for obvious things like: insufficient disk space, going to a higher version, folder doesn't exist etc...)

At my last job I restored them every day, not just with VERIFYONLY. The peace of mind is worth it.

1 Like

Most definitely. Unless you want to find out one day you have a disaster and your backups are empty or corrupt

before I started working as a DBA, I worked for a company that found out the hard way that their backups hadn't worked correctly for a month.

It took 40 people just to get us back online and that took 10 days. It took those 40 people a month of hard work to collect spreadsheets and reports and all manner of other information to get us back close to where we thought we were.

The customer complaints were a nightmare during the entire evolution and there was no income for at all for the first 6 days to get back online.

In todays world, I do restores of my two big production databases every night. The Developers love it because they use it as a "final" test before we push code to test. The Test folks use it as a final test as well and they love it because the nightly restore ensures they have the latest for final test.

I do that on top of doing a check sum, having a special email sent to me if any backup fails, and I do checksums for the backups. I'm also working on reincorporating and old job that I had done a decade ago that give me a count of the backups that appear on disk for every database in the entire enterprise (its just a couple hundred DBs across 8 servers) that will return the counts on a morning report.

Remember, don't develop a backup plan. Develop a restore plan, which also includes making sure that the backups did occur and that they are viable. You cannot check to much or too often.

--Jeff Moden

2 Likes

Why did it happen?