Using results of WITH

I am relatively new at SQL so I apologise if this is obvious but I cannot work out how to use the results of the WITH clause query in the where statement of my main query. My with query pulls the first record for each customer and gives the sale date for that record:

WITH summary AS(
SELECT ed2.customer,ed2.saledate,
ROW_NUMBER()OVER(PARTITION BY ed2.customer
ORDER BY ed2.saledate)AS rk
FROM Filteredxportdocument ed2)
SELECT s.*
FROM summary s
WHERE s.rk=1

I need to use the date in the above query as the starting point and pull all records for each customer for their first 12 months i.e. where the sale date is between ed2.saledate AND ed2.saledate+12 months. My main query is:

SELECT ed.totalamountincvat, ed.saledate, ed.name AS SaleRef,
ed.customer, ed.customername, comp.numberofemployees,
comp.companyuid
FROM exportdocument AS ed INNER JOIN
FilteredAccount AS comp ON ed.customer = comp.accountid
WHERE (ed.statecode = 0) AND
ed.saledate BETWEEN ed2.saledate AND DATEADD(M,12,ed2.saledate)

I am sure that I need to add the main query into the WITH clause but I cant work out where. I keep losing a large amount of the original set of data.

Can anyone help please?

OR if anyone has a better way of doing this than using WITH. I have tried to use MIN to get the first date but it does not work very well and does not pull out all first sales for some reason.

Hi

You could do this

;
WITH abc_cte
AS (
	SELECT *
	FROM #temp
	)
	,def_cte
AS (
	SELECT *
	FROM abc_cte
	WHERE date1 < date2
	)
SELECT *
FROM def_cte

Thank you, will try this and let you know

Would it be easier to just use the MIN(saledate) for the Customer as the starting point? That might be more efficient for SQL too - particularly if you have an index on [saledate]

SELECT	ed.totalamountincvat, ed.saledate, ed.name AS SaleRef, 
	comp.companyuid
FROM	exportdocument AS ed 
	JOIN
	(
		SELECT	customer,	-- I assume this is a Unique Key
			MIN(saledate) AS MIN_saledate