Understanding

HI Team need help in understanding the below code. I'm new to the programming.

I've 100 records in table abc.

declare @counter int
set @counter=1

while @counter>0
begin
begin
select * into #a from abc;
end;
begin
update x set y=m
from a x inner join b y
on x.id=i.id;
end;
begin
drop table #a
end;

select @counter=@@rowcount
end
My understanding it the loop will never encounter 0. so it become an infinite loop.

please help me in understand what the "select @counter=@@rowcount" will do and the loop will exit.

Sorry james there is small correction in code.

To the contrary, since you are starting out with @counter=1, it will never enter the while loop which requires that @counter be greater than 1.

If you changed the initial condition to something else, or changed the while condition, it would enter the loop, but it will fail the second time when you pass through the loop. This is because the SELECT INTO construct creates a table and inserts the data into it. Since the table #a would have been created at the first pass, at the second pass, the code will error out.

It would help you to understand the logic if you use proper indentation. Perhaps you are, and the forum formatting isn't doing its job.

Sorry James there is a small correction. typo error.

Some SQL statements set @@ROWCOUNT, some don't. DROP TABLE does seem to set it to 0, so it looks like the WHILE will end. Although for that code, of course there's no need for a loop at all.

select object_id into #a from sys.tables
select @@rowcount
drop table #a
select @@rowcount