Triggers in SQL Server

Hello,

I am new to SQL Server but I have experience of Oracle and SQL Anywhere. Something you can do in both Oracle and SQL Anywhere is to create an after Trigger for insert, update and delete (one trigger for them all) and check inside the trigger if it is an insert, update or delete. If I have understood it correctly this is not possible in SQL Server, instead I have to create three triggers, is this correct?

In the previous databases mentioned above you can also choose to have the trigger for each row, but this is not possible for SQL Server, here it is per transaction instead? How do you handle if several rows have been updated in one transaction and each of the rows should trigger an event?

I might have missunderstood something and f this is the case please be so kind to guide me in the correct direction

M.G

You can have a single trigger for any combination of INSERT, UPDATE and/or DELETE. See the syntax here.

Triggers are fired once per update/delete/insert statement regardless of how many rows are affected. Not once per transaction.

Within the trigger, you have access to two virtual tables INSERTED and DELETED. Those have the after and before state of the rows that have been affected.

If INSERTED is empty, that means it is a delete operation; if DELETED is empty, it is an insert operation. If both tables have non-zero number of records, it is an update operation.

You can examine the rows in the INSERTED and/or DELETED tables and do whatever you may need to do to each row. The beauty is that this method allows you to do the operations in a set based manner on all the affected rows.

2 Likes

Hi, thanks for your answer

But I have some more uncertainties, hope perhaps you can clarify

If you assume that you handle each row independently in a trigger, can't this leads to errors? Assuming that the inserts and deleted tables always only contain one row,when they actually can contin many?