Transfer table from one instance/server to another instance server

Good afternoon, i am requesting some help and guidance in achieving the following task. I am fairly new to SQL and alot of what i have learned thus far has been with the help of this site, google and youtube and of course the school of trial and error. So for that i want to say a big thank you to all who have answered my posts.

So i have a local instance of SQL on a PC, and i have a remote instance on a server, i am looking for the best approach to transfer a table complete from the local instance to the remote instance.

There has been some ideas tossed around such as on the remote instance have a view that connect back to the local instance then using a stored proceedure call that view and save the results in a table. but the file name changes on the local instance so this method might not be the best.

I am certain other out there have probably done similar things. So if you could lend a helping hand and guide me in a direction that will be the best.

And just so you know we are using SQL 2008

Filenames should not matter to the SQL code as they are not relevant, but perhaps you meant Database Name?

In principle if the table already exists on both the Local and the Remote you can do:

INSERT INTO MyRemoteServer.MyRemoteDatabase.dbo.MyRemoteTableName
SELECT *
FROM dbo.MyLocalTableName
or
FROM MyLocalDatabase.dbo.MyLocalTableName

If you need to "empty" the target table first then

TRUNCATE TABLE MyRemoteServer.MyRemoteDatabase.dbo.MyRemoteTableName

(You cannot do that on a table that has Foreign Keys associated with it, so you would have to use DELETE instead - but beware that that will LOG all the deletions, so on a big table will use a lot of Log File space).

If your table has an IDENTITY column then you need to SET INSERT_IDENTITY on the (remote) table to ON before the operation, and SET it OFF afterwards.