SSRS Cached Reports v Snapshots

Hi,

First post, so be gentle!

I am relatively new to SQL and SSRS and have self taught myself so this may be a simple question, asked by a simple person!

What is the difference between Snapshots and Cached Reports? I have a report that contains high volumes of data and takes our management team a few minutes to run each time.

What I would like to do is provide them with a more efficient way of accessing this data and I am hoping either a Cache or Snapshot can help so that when they come to run their report(s) each day, they are only accessing / filtering on the data already extracted.

Whats the best way to handle this? Is it possible to run the cache / snapshot with all parameters selected and then just allow the users to filter out the data they dont want, without having to execute the full report again?

Apologies if I've explained it really badly - as I said, I'm new to SQL and SSRS!

Thanks in advance for reading.

Glenn

I found this article: http://www.sqlchick.com/entries/2013/4/16/ssrs-report-execution-snapshot-vs-a-report-history-snapshot.html

It explains the caching of reports and how both types of snapshots work.

In addition - if you know the parameters to be used - you could create multiple linked reports. You can then create a specific linked report for each set of parameters - and generate a snapshot or cache the linked report. Your users then access the specific version of the report which will have the data filtered for them.

I prefer the snapshot approach myself - which allows me to keep a full year of reports that we can go back to if needed.

2 Likes

Hi,

Thanks for the advice. if I cache my report with the widest possible parameters, will anyone who subsequently runs the report with narrower parameters benefit from the cache or does this just re-run the whole report using the new parameters?