SQL Cast from unixtime Year in general format that Excel can recognize

I am very new to SQL and have this command text where this line is bringing in the year of shipped data. However Excel does not recognize the data.
I can fix this by doing a text to column and selecting General but I do not want to do this every time I open the sheet.

Is there anyway to format what is coming through as "General" recognized by Excel?

The line giving me issue is: FROM_UNIXTIME(t2.date_shipped, '%Y') AS Shipped Year,

The entire code is:

SELECT
FROM_UNIXTIME(t2.date_shipped, '%b') AS `Shipped Month`,
FROM_UNIXTIME(t2.date_shipped, '%Y') AS `Shipped Year`,
COUNT(*) AS "Count of Work Orders Shipped"

FROM
erp_workorder AS t1
LEFT JOIN
  erp_shipping AS t2
ON
  t1.id_primary = t2.id_workorder   
WHERE
t2.date_shipped <> 0
AND
t2.date_shipped > UNIX_TIMESTAMP() - ((107000 * 30) * 30)
GROUP BY IFNULL(FROM_UNIXTIME(t2.date_shipped, '%m'), 0), IFNULL(FROM_UNIXTIME(t2.date_shipped, '%Y'), 0)
ORDER BY IFNULL(FROM_UNIXTIME(t2.date_shipped, '%Y'), 0), IFNULL(FROM_UNIXTIME(t2.date_shipped, '%m'), 0)

Thank you to anyone who can help!

Which database product are you using? And how is it interacting with Excel?

SQLTeam.com is a Microsoft SQL Server site, we're not (as) well versed in other databases.

1 Like

Queries & Connections option in Excel itself:

When you say that Excel isn't recognizing the data - what exactly does that mean? Are you getting an error - or something else?

Do you know what that function is returning - is it returning an integer, (n)varchar, (n)char or some other data type?

I do not know what function the SQL code is returning, all I know is the format that comes through excel does not recognize it in formulas.

I have the below formula but get a #N/A error:

However if I convert the data/column using Text to Columns and select General,
then the formula works no problem: