Shrinking Log file

Hi All,

Have a question about shrinking a transaction log file and hope someone can point me in the right direction.

One of the transaction logs is about 70GB in size, and the drive it is located on currently has 70GB free space.

When I use SSMS to Shrink the log file, nothing seems to happen, the dialog box for shrinking the log file disappears and that´s it.

Having read some information on the net, it mentions that it can take some time for the log file to actually shrink.

I started the shrink on Friday afternoon and have checked the size of the log file this morning, and it is the exactly the same size.

The setup is Windows Server 2008 R2/SQL Server 2008 and the database is set to FULL recovery.

Would appreciate any help.

Thanks,

Steve

Did you take a log backup before shrinking the file?
If not try this way.

Excuse my ignorance, but as I am really a beginner with SQL, how do I do that through SSMS?

Having just checked the information in SSMS when I look at shrinking the log file again, it shows Available free space: 6361.55MB (8%).

Not sure what this means exactly, so do not want to even attempt to guess.

Thanks,

Steve

you have to either back up the log first, or change to Simple recovery, then shrink the file. for more see here: http://www.sqlserverlogexplorer.com/how-to-clear-transaction-with-dbcc-shrinkfile/

You can run this query to see what your database recovery model is, when backups were made, and what type. You should see [Type] = "L" for Log Backups

DECLARE @database_name nvarchar(256) = N'MyDatabaseName'
--
SELECT	D.recovery_model_desc, D.name
FROM	master.sys.databases AS D
WHERE	D.name = @database_name
--
SELECT TOP 500 WITH TIES
	BS.backup_start_date,
	BS.type,
	[Size KB]=CONVERT(int, BS.backup_size/(1024)),
	BS.database_name
FROM	msdb.dbo.backupset AS BS
WHERE	1=1
	AND BS.database_name = @database_name
ORDER BY BS.backup_start_date DESC

Is the database in FULL or SIMPLE recovery model?