Select query for multiple tables from system configuration(sys.tables) with specific columns

Hi All,

I have 70 plus tables from my database. I can get the list of all tables by using sys.tables with specific column name. I should get the null values of that specific column for all tables from my database. I am new to SQL. Can anyone please guide me on this. I got the list of tables by using the below query.

SELECT OBJECT_SCHEMA_NAME (c.object_id) SchemaName,
o.Name AS Table_Name,
c.Name AS Field_Name,
t.Name AS Data_Type,
t.max_length AS Length_Size,
t.precision AS Precision
FROM sys.columns c
INNER JOIN sys.objects o ON o.object_id = c.object_id
LEFT JOIN sys.types t on t.user_type_id = c.user_type_id
WHERE o.type = 'U'
-- and o.Name = 'YourTableName'
ORDER BY o.Name, c.Name

Thanks,
Arun Kumar Durairaj,
darunk90@gmail.com.

Welcome. So if in one table there are 50 rows with null value of the specific column, what columns do you want returned from each table?

Custom defined columns as per requirements.

So you want to find all records in all tables where column @xyz is null.

Yes.

try this for starters and see what is inside that #kampataboo table. All tables might not have the same custom defined tables and same column data type. so this could ugly very fast or might end up in kludgy solution. What is the end goal here? Just find null values?

Notice I started out with @columnName varchar(150) = 'vmid'; In there plug a column that you know could be null just to give this a start and post back here.

use yourDatabase
go

declare @findNullQuery varchar(max), @parmtableName varchar(150), 
@parmcolumnName varchar(150), 
 @tableName varchar(150), @columnName varchar(150) = 'vmid';

create table #kampataboo(tablename varchar(150), columnname varchar(150), query varchar(max));

DECLARE db_cursor CURSOR FOR 
select t.name, c.name, 'select ''' + t.name + ''' as tablename, ''' + c.name + ''' as columnname from ' + t.name + ' where ' +  c.name + ' is null '