SELECT on column name from query's result set in same query?

Hi,

I am a junior programmer that has just figured out CTE with recursion, but still struggling with a problem.

I have a column colC in a table myTable that has a value (e.g. '0X'). The position of a non-zero character in column colC refers to the ordinal position of another column in the table myTable (in the aforementioned example, colB).

To get a column name (i.e., colA or colB) from table myTable, I can join ("ON cte.pos = cn.ORDINAL_POSITION") to INFORMATION_SCHEMA.COLUMNS for that table catalog, schema and name. But I want to show the value of what is in that column (e.g., 'ABC'), not just the name. Hoping for:

COLUMN_NAME Value

colB 123
colA XYZ

I've tried dynamic SQL to no success, probably not executing the concept correctly...

Help?

Cheers,
Paul

Below is what I have:

CREATE TABLE myTable (colA VARCHAR(3), colB VARCHAR(3), colC VARCHAR(3))
INSERT INTO myTable (colA, colB, colC) VALUES ('ABC', '123', '0X')
INSERT INTO myTable (colA, colB, colC) VALUES ('XYZ', '789', 'X0')

;WITH cte AS
(
SELECT CAST(PATINDEX('%[^0]%', colC) AS SMALLINT) pos, STUFF(colC, 1, PATINDEX('%[^0]%', colC), '') colC
FROM myTable

UNION ALL

SELECT CAST(PATINDEX('%[^0]%', colC) AS SMALLINT) + pos, STUFF(colC, 1, PATINDEX('%[^0]%', colC), '')
FROM cte
WHERE colC > ''
    AND PATINDEX('%[^0]%', colC) > 0

)

SELECT cn.COLUMN_NAME
FROM cte
INNER JOIN INFORMATION_SCHEMA.COLUMNS cn
ON cte.pos = cn.ORDINAL_POSITION
WHERE cn.TABLE_CATALOG = 'myTableCatalog'
AND cn.TABLE_SCHEMA = 'dbo'
AND cn.TABLE_NAME = 'myTable'

What do you want to return for the "column value" when there is more than 1 row in the table?

Hi,

I don't think that can happen, my usage of the cte (should) only allow(s) one row.

Also, just FYI, I'm not allowed to create/utilize functions or temp tables...

Cheers,
Paul