[Resolved]Trigger un email when records change in a row

Hi every members;
I am new in SQL and i creat an update trigger that send email when a record is updated in my table column and the code is:
CREATE TRIGGER RODTRG01
ON ROD
AFTER UPDATE
AS
BEGIN
IF UPDATE (ROD01) --ROD01 is the column that i need to be notified about its changes--
BEGIN
EXEC msdb.dbo.sp_send_dbmail
@profile_name = 'my profile',
@recipients = 'my email',
@body = 'bla bla bla',
@subject = 'notification';
END
END
GO

and lke i said in the code ''ROD01 is the column that i need to be notified about its changes''
this column got one row with only one value 0 or 1

my quetion is how to write;

IF the row (ROD01) = 1 then send message 1
ELSE IF the row (ROD01) = 0 then send message 2

thanks a lot for your replays

CREATE TRIGGER RODTRG01 
ON dbo.ROD 
AFTER UPDATE
AS
SET NOCOUNT ON;
IF UPDATE (ROD01)
BEGIN
    DECLARE @body nvarchar(100)
    SET @body = CASE (SELECT TOP (1) ROD01 FROM inserted i)
        WHEN 0 THEN 'message 2'
        WHEN 1 THEN 'message 1'
        ELSE '??' END
    EXEC msdb.dbo.sp_send_dbmail
    @profile_name = 'my profile',
    @recipients = 'my email',
    @body = @body,
    @subject = 'notification';
END
GO --end of trigger
1 Like

Thank you very very very mach ScottPletcher you solved my problem
good work.
But if you have a litle time to explaine for me in details what mean this code;

DECLARE @body nvarchar(100)
SET @body = CASE (SELECT TOP (1) ROD01 FROM inserted i)
WHEN 0 THEN 'message 2'
WHEN 1 THEN 'message 1'
ELSE '??' END

and thanks again.

Please note that if you update multiple rows, in the table, the trigger will only be fired once. Thus Scott's code is designed to only send an email to the first (picked at random) record that is being updated.

The email will be sent even if the [ROD01] column is not changed (but provided it is included in the SET statement of the update, or in an INSERT.