Previously fast sql query starts running slow

One Stored Procedure started to run slow after our dba left the company( or this is a coincidence?). Before it was running about 1 min. Now it runs several hours and never ends (I cancel the job after several hours). This SP has 2 cursors. It creates temporary tables. Tempdb has about 3GB available space during SP execution.
I read several articles on internet, like http://dba.stackexchange.com/questions/60179/when-a-previously-fast-sql-query-starts-running-slow-where-do-i-look-to-find-th , https://blogs.msdn.microsoft.com/queryoptteam/2006/03/31/i-smell-a-parameter/
and more, also tried WITH RECOMPILE - nothing helps. It is SQL Server 2008 R2.
Server is restarted ones a week.
I read that Memory reservations cannot usually grow during query execution, regardless of how much free memory the server may have.
What else can I do? I'm a report developer I don't know a lot about SQL Server performance.

Since the query was running well my guess would be that it is database maintenance (or lack thereof) is the cause of the poor performance. So before you do any code changes such as WITH RECOMPILE and so on, make sure that the indexes are rebuilt/reorganized and statistics are kept up to date. Search and you will find lot of resources on how to check if the indexes are fragmented, how to rebuild etc.

If you added a lot more data or if the nature of the queries have changed, then you may need to investigate more and/or make code changes, but before you do any of that investigate indexes and statistics.

1 Like

Specifically look for indexing code from Ola Hallengren. It is widely used and considered a VERY good resource. A simple search will turn up the site where you can download the code and supporting tables.

1 Like

I checked for one table, which is used in this SP, if it has indexes and statistics and yes,