Please help on conditional join

Hi.
As per this post "DB HUGE! Help on indexes and ideas"
(thanks Kristen for all the help).

As I currently did not get an OK for a new intermediate database (hopefully in the future),
I'm trying to do the same thing the query does in a temp table.
This will run in 15 seconds vs 15 minutes when using the commented out selection described above.
So as you can see, there is a conditional selection right after tblClientOrderItem that I have commented out.
I'm just inserting all the data and then I try to recreate the conditional join. I try this by using a counter , inner join the same temp table and then apply the conditional join. If I use a where clause in the commented out code, in the temp db, I just get 70 rows vs 30000+ rows that I get in the normal query.
So I tried it that way.
However when using the temp query I get 2-3000 additional rows in the end result.
So as I'm no expert i think there is something I am missing so i can "simulate" the initial left join with the commented out condition.
I would appreciate any help. I'm thinking that adding the extra columns so i can recreate the join is initially adding rows to the query on the left join.I'm kinda lost here so...

declare	@Date as DateTime
declare	@Mode as smallint = 0

--set @Date = '20161207' -- test vm db  test
set @date = '20170418'

SELECT DISTINCT 	[Cinema],[Accounting_Type],[Box_Type],[SCR_SUBCIN],[POS],[kin_payment],[TransT_lgnNumber],[TransT_intSequence]
	,[CinOperator_strCode],[PGroup_strCode],[PGroup_strName],[PayType_strType],[PayType_strDescription],[Refunded]
	,[IsRefund],[PaymentFlag],[IsFree],[IsJournalist],[IsGiftCard],[IsMovieStore],[IsGold],[IsEuropa]
	--,Case when PV.VoucherCode is not null then null else CONVERT(VARCHAR,VC.sCode) end
	,[Booking]
	,VC.sName,[SeqRefunded],[STax_curRate],[Gross3],[Gross2],[Gross],[Net],[FDTH],[FPA],[KRATHSEIS],[FPAKRATHSEIS]