New to SQL

I am new to using MySQL. I have familiarity with Microsoft Access. I’m trying to follow along in the book “Sam Teach SQL in 24 hours” having difficulty creating the training database. Is any one familiar with this material and how to create the training database?

could you explain what the difficulty is? error messages?

Note, too, that this is a SQL Server forum, not a MySQL forum. You would almost certainly have better luck with MySQL-specifics on a MySQL forum.

Ok. Let me clarify. I stated it was MySQL but that was incorrect. I've downloaded Microsoft SQL Server onto my Window computer. I've created a profile with server name and user name. It did not prompt me to create the password. But the profile is built according to the instructions. Then it instructed to build a database which I did. So I can go into SSMS and see the table it instructed.

The next instructions are to create tables. using the following:
1> use learnsql;
2> GO

This is where I am having difficult as it is providing an error message. I'll try to recreate the error message, but I'm thinking either I don't have access to it, or my profile is incorrect to keep me from seeing.

Are you familiar with this book "Sam Teach SQL in 24Hours". It is basically a intro book. My objective, it to improve/enhance my SQL writing outside of Microsoft Access.

Thanks

Odd. If your profile let you create a db, it should certainly let you see that db.

You want to make sure you have 'sysadmin' access (which is a server-level permission on your login). sysadmin is the highest access and will let you do anything in the instance.

Hi Scott,