New to SQL Server - invisible on network

I am a newbie using SQLExpress 2014 on Windows 10 machine. Trying to access the backend database for the membership database for a local non-profit society using ODBC. I copied the SQLServer data files onto my home computer where I had installed SQLExpress, and have successfully used ODBC to read the data when confined to the single computer. Next step is to access the data across my home network from a second Windows machine. So far, the SQL Server is invisible from the second machine.

I downloaded and installed a utility called SQLPing v3.0. Using the server machine, I confirmed the server was running, and that it was using IP port 64434. I opened that port, plus port 1433 on the Windows firewall, then tried running SQPPing on the second machine with no success. Similarly, I had no success trying to create a DSN connection from the second machine to the server machine. I can successfully Ping from the second machine to the Server machine, so I know the computer itself is visible across the network.

One thing I noticed is that SQLPing runs very quickly on the second machine (and reports that it finds no servers), whereas it proceeds slow enough when running on the server machine that I can see each IP address as it attempts a connection.

I have not configured anything about file-sharing on the Server machine; I assumed that than installing SQL Server was sufficient, but correct me if I'm wrong. As a newbie, I am completely stumped. Any advice how to proceed would be appreciated.

How is SQL Express configured? IIRC, out of the box it looks like this (SQL Server COonfiguration Manager:

If you're not allowing TCP/IP connections (like me, mine is disabled) you won't be able to connect

1 Like

Thanks for your help. I have confirmed that TCP/IP is enabled.