Nested query

dear all

i would like to get the following information out of my tables below: Which tennis player has won his first competition in 2015 in the second half of the year ?
The result I would like to see is 'djokovic'.
Can I do this with a nested query?

Thanks for your help!

Player List
    ---------------

ID	Name
    1	federer
    2	nadal
    3	djokovic

Competitions won
--------------

Player ID	Date
1		11-Mar-15
1		12-Sep-15
2		12-Mar-15
3		15-Sep-15

Sounds like homework to me. Please take a shot at it (pun intended!) and post your results

SELECT playerlist.name
FROM     playerlist 

GROUP BY playerlist.id

HAVING competitions.date > 1442068113 

(SELECT competitions.date FROM competitions WHERE competitions.playerid = playerlist.id)

This gives an error. And many other tries did not work either. I am keen on learning and working on this since a few hours since I am new to this. constructive feedback is appreciated.

When you get an error, be sure to post the message! In this case I bet SQL is complaining that playerlist.name is not in an aggregate function nor in the group by. Is that what you're getting?

also in the second query:

SELECT competitions.date FROM competitions WHERE competitions.playerid = playerlist.id

You are referring to a table "playerlist" but it is not defined anywhere in the second query. You probably want to use a JOIN operator

Let's walk thru this.

"Which player won his first competition ..."

Hmm, so what do we need to do in SQL to determine a player's first win?

In SQL terms, what function would give you the first/earliest win?

We know we'll need the playerid, and something to determine the first win date for each player:

SELECT playerid, ?date? --?how to get the earliest date?
FROM competititons
??

"... in the second half of the year ?"

So we also need to check that the date is in the second half of the year.
That would be from July 1 on :-).
So that would involve checking that
date >= '20150701'