Need to setup a SQL test (interview) for candidates. What is the best way to do so?

Hi,

I am a hiring manager that has little to no knowledge of SQLserver, but i am hiring someone to properly store all my customer data/analytics. he needs to be able to do the following:

1. import my data( this could be a sample data) from access into sql server

2. sort and clean data, such that information is neat and easily extractable by fields and relational tables

3. query for simple use into excel spreadsheets/VBA/

4. cycle the import from external excel spreadsheets and schedule the task to run every hour.

Is there a way to setup a trial test for these skills? How do i go about doing it? This should be pretty basic, i am hoping to get the candidates to do this in an exam environment for an hour.

How do i test the competency of the candidates?

Get a chum in(*), during the interview, to access the SQL skills? and you just deal with whether you think the person fits your organisation :slight_smile:

(*) with appropriate skills, Natch!

@songhaegyo,
I offer my interview skills for a mere 300 USD each I can assess each candidate for you and ensure you don't hire anyone without the requisite SQL Server skills. such a deal! LOL

If you don't know SQL, your best approach is to do a live test of their skills.

Create a sample data set(s) and have them do code to load, sort and clean the data.

Make sure the data is not too complex, or it will take too long to do the code.

But presumably an hour or so is not too long. Even if they can't finish, have them do what they can, and you can still evaluate their work.

Its an incredible deal ... the recruitment people we (try not to ...) use charge $8,000 - and all they do is send us the CVs, our key-requirements are rarely something that they bother to check ...