Nee help to write a formula that will show previous status prior to the current status

Can someone please help me to work on a formula that will show the previous variable for a specific column?

My goal is to see the status of the candidate prior to being rejected or candidate declined. At first I was thinking that it should be like Current Status minus 1 but I read in the other discussions that there is no concept of previous, current and next. So what I did is to create a sequence to each statuses. But my problem is I am not sure how to write the formula showing the previous status.

I am a newbie in SQL and so I would really need your help in order for me to do this.

I hope someone will help.

Thank you!

Do you want to see an Audit / History record (of how the data was before it was changed)?

Or do you just want to see the previous-value-in-sequence-order?

if you want the highest-value-less-than-current-value (i.e. the "previous" value) you could do something like:

SELECT TOP 1 StatusDescription AS [PreviousStatusDescription]
FROM MyStatusTable
WHERE SequenceNumber < @MyCurrentSequenceNumber
ORDER BY SequenceNumber DESC
1 Like

CREATE TABLE OrderStatus
(
ID int IDENTITY PRIMARY KEY
, OrderID int REFERENCES Order(ID) NOT NULL
, StatusId int REFERECES Status(ID) NOT NULL
, StatusDate datetime NOT NULL DEFAULT GetDate()
);
INSERT INTO OrderStautus Select ***
GO
;WITH SecondToLastStatus(Id, OrderId, StatusId, StatusDate, RowNum)
AS
(
SELECT
ID
, OrderID
, StatusId
, StatusDate
, RowNumber() Over (PARTITION BY OrderId ORDER BY StatusDate Desc)
FROM OrderStatus
)
SELECT
Id
, OrderId
, StatusId
, StatusDate
FROM
SecondToLastStatus
WHERE
RowNum = 2;

1 Like

Hi Kristen,

Thank you for your response. Appreciate it.

I need to see the status before the person gets rejected. Not the whole history but only that one status. Say for example I have these statuses.

1. New
  2. To be evaluated
  3. Review
  4. 1st interview
  5. 2nd interview
  6. final interview