Most efficient way of finding and storing where there are duplicate entries

Hi

I'm just learning about CTE and the WITH statement. I find it trickier to write at the moment but which would you say is the best solution to finding duplicate values in my table rows ::-

`Output plan 1 :-

SELECT ID4, DATERECORD INTO TABLEMIX2
FROM TABLEMIX
GROUP BY ID4, DATERECORD
HAVING COUNT(ID3)>1 AND COUNT(ID4)>1 AND COUNT(DATERECORD)>1 –- ..10 more AND COUNT precedents to follow
ORDER BY ID4

Output plan 2 :-

WITH TESTTABLE_CTE (ID3, ID4, DATERECORD)
AS
(
SELECT ID3, ID4, DATERECORD
FROM dbo.TABLEMIX
GROUP BY ID3, ID4, DATERECORD
HAVING COUNT(ID3)>1 AND COUNT(ID4)>1 AND COUNT(DATERECORD)>1 –- ..10 more AND COUNT precedents to follow
)INSERT INTO TESTTABLE3 (ID3, ID4, DATERECORD)
SELECT ID3, ID4, DATERECORD FROM TESTTABLE_CTE

Output plan 3 :-

WITH TABLEMIX_CTE (ROWNUM, ID3, ID4, DATERECORD)
AS
(
SELECT ROW_NUMBER() OVER (PARTITION BY ID3, ID4, DATERECORD ORDER BY ID4),ID3,ID4,DATERECORD –- ..10 more AND COUNT precedents to follow
AS ROWNUM
FROM TABLEMIX
)
INSERT INTO TESTTABLE3 (ID3, ID4, DATERECORD)
SELECT ID3, ID4, DATERECORD FROM TABLEMIX_CTE WHERE ROWNUM=2 -- to pick out any duplicate entry – if there are 2 or more then it will output for creating new table entry
`

Plan 1 creates the table first if it doesn;t exist also.

Cheers
James

As I stated on the other forum, "It Depends". What do you want to do with the duplicates once you find them?

1 Like

Hi Jeff
I've opted for my Plan 3 now. I have started to like using the WITH statement which is another reason to use rather than the GROUP BY solution.

Cheers
James

I don't usually ask questions like I did unless it's REALLY important to your post. The reason why I asked what you're going to do with the dupes once you find them is because ALL of the code you listed is EXTREMELY dangerous if you make the mistake of converting them to DELETEs and you only want to delete dupes and not the originals.

1 Like

Hi Jeff