Migration SQL Server 2005 from Physical Host to VM

Hello,

it's my first time here, i need your help if you can :slight_smile:

So we have:
B one physical server[/B] :
Active Directory, DNS, DHCP, File Server, Print Server and [B]SQL Server 2005[/B]

and we will install new (2) two server for [B]High Availability[/B] with VMware vSphere (ESXi) 6.0
and we will have (2) two Virtual Machine :
1st VM :
Active Directory, DNS, DHCP

2nd VM :
OS : Windows Server 2008 R2 (becaure SQL Server 2005 does not work with 2012 R2 [URL="https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/2681562"]link[/URL])
SQL Server 2005 Service Pack 3

My Question is : What is a safe method to Migrate Database's from Physical Host (Windows Server 2003) to 2nd VM ?
this is schema of my futur architectur : picture

[B]Best Regards[/B]

I would just use backup/restore like with any other database migrations. You can use detach/attach method, however I prefer backup/restore as it means less downtime since you can prep a the database on the new server by using backup/restore with norecovery option.

1 Like

Thank you very mutch for your fast answer :slight_smile:

i think, i will backup/restore database's one bye one :slight_smile:

However, you think i will not have a probleme with SQL Server 2005 SP3 on VM ? it's so old, but we can not upgrade to newest version $$$

Best regards

2005 Works fine on VMs.

1 Like

hi JeffModen,

can you advice me; how vmdk (disk) i must assign to this VM ?

1 partition système

1 partition per instance

1 partition for databases

1 partition for tempdb

1 partition for transaction log's 

and how mutch RAM and vCPU ?

Thank you per advance :smile:

It's almost not possible for me to make any specific size/qty recommendations in that area because I don't know how the existing machine is used, what the load on it is, nor what the performance on it is.