Master records with no transactional data

Hope I'm posting in the right section. I have a master table which contains a unique ID for each company. The company ID is used in 7 transactional tables where I need to isolate all instances where we have a company record with no transactional data.

I run a query like the one below for each company and copy the results to Excel where I combine and filter the results as needed. I was wondering if it is possible to rewrite the script to run against all 7 tables at once and use the distinct statement to return only unique values.

select [ID], [Base] from [Company] left outer join [Transact1] on ([Company].[ID] = [Transact1].[Vendor])
where [Transact1].[Vendor] is null

Try with UNION or UNION ALL (depending of your needs)

select [ID], [Base] from [Company] left outer join [Transact1] on ([Company].[ID] = [Transact1].[Vendor])
    where [Transact1].[Vendor] is null
    UNION
    select [ID], [Base] from [Company] left outer join [Transact2] on ([Company].[ID] = [Transact2].[Vendor])
    where [Transact2].[Vendor] is null
    UNION
    select [ID], [Base] from [Company] left outer join [Transact3] on ([Company].[ID] = [Transact3].[Vendor]) 
    where [Transact3].[Vendor] is null
    select [ID], [Base] from [Company] left outer join [Transact4] on ([Company].[ID] = [Transact4].[Vendor])
    where [Transact4].[Vendor] is null
    UNION
    select [ID], [Base] from [Company] left outer join [Transact5] on ([Company].[ID] = [Transact5].[Vendor])
    where [Transact5].[Vendor] is null
    UNION
    select [ID], [Base] from [Company] left outer join [Transact6] on ([Company].[ID] = [Transact6].[Vendor]) 
    where [Transact6].[Vendor] is null
1 Like

sure its possible. combine the 7 tables using your select and the UNION ALL statement. Wrap the results as a subquery (or CTE). The main query would take distinct results from the subquery.

1 Like