Logging data even if rollback happens?

Our stored procedures use transactions with commits, rollbacks in case of error, and even save points for nested transactions. Here's the question: We want to keep a log of certain activities, even if the transaction that was doing those activities ends up getting rolled back. Is there any way to do that?

Are you using TRY/CATCH? In the CATCH, INSERT the error/etc into a logging table.

Plenty of examples that show what's available: https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms179296(v=sql.105).aspx

I'm still new with this company, so I don't know exactly what data we're dealing with, or when/how it's written. I'll have to check with the senior DB developer who assigned me to look into this and get the details. But yeah, putting it in the catch will probably do what we need. Now I feel stupid for not thinking of that myself. I'll use the end of a long day as my excuse for this one.

Actually, thinking about it, there's a scenario where this might not work. What if it's something that uses save points, and we're only rolling back to the last save point? The catch portion of the try/catch would still be part of the previous transaction, so it could still be rolled back later if that larger transaction gets rolled back.

Like I said, I'll have to talk to the senior DB developer who wanted me to look into how to do this and get more details. Once I get out of the hypothetical and into the specific, I'll know if this works.

The larger transaction should have a try/catch block too. I'll need to see actual code to picture it though.

Yeah, I'll need to see the actual code, too. :stuck_out_tongue: