Issues Ingesting many transactional JSON files from Amazon AWS S3 into on-premise SQL Server

Hi. I need help with a problem in work involving event streaming, AWS S3 and ingesting transactional Json files into an SQL Server database.

Our work currently use on premise SQL server database which is sourced using a daily batch feed. However shortly we will be moving to a new source system that supplies the data in transactional Json files via an event stream on AWS S3. Despite the cloud storage our database will remain as on-premise for the time being. (Even if cloud database is a better solution, this is not an option as we are under tight timescales to transform the source)

Note I’m completely new to AWS S3 and our company is currently setting up an account for the source company to replicate the event stream to our S3 account so please assume I know little in your response. I have also only basic SQL server knowledge but learning fast :blush:

So, in summary my main questions are:

1. What is the best way to ingest 100’s of thousands of transactional Json files from an AWS S3 bucket into SQL server? (Preferably a solution that doesn’t involve purchasing extra software if possible)