Insert only database backup - How to do it the right way?

Hello!

I am new here, and I am also a beginner when we talk about SQL server.
Let me describe my problem:

I am having a bunch of IoT devices which stores data to the database (Temperatures, Preasures etc.)
As number of devices grow, database grows too. It is now around 20 GB (I know this is not really big database, but it will be some day - maybe).

What is the problem here? My database have only 3 tables (Settings, DeviceList, Measurements).
(Maybe this is not the best design, but let's leave the aside for now), and only 1 data file and 1 log file (all in primary filegroup).
When I backup my database I always backup the whole database even if I know that no data will be changed (I only do insert and select on this database - no deletes or updates). I could try to do differential backup, but then I have to do full backup first and then few differential.... it seems to complex to me (and still I create a backup of unchanged data)

I read about secondary filegroup which is set as read only. (I didn't completely understand that)
What would really be a solution (at list I think so) is.
Store data in datafile (which is in primary filegroup). At the end of each year, I should "move data" to readonly filegroup, do a FINAL backup and that's it. So each year will be store in its own datafile. (.ndf).
All data is still available for user to query data (SELECT). We can do FULL/DIFFERENTIAL backup on current data (FULL backup monthly/weekly, DIFFERENTIAL backup daily).
Using Maintentance plan to automate this is really a bonus.

So this is what I have in mind:
[READONLY FILEGROUP]
Data_2018 [Readonly] -> (.ndf) backup once at the end of the year, mark as read only
Data_2018 [Readonly] -> (.ndf) backup once at the end of the year, mark as read only
Data_2019 [Readonly] -> (.ndf) backup once at the end of the year
Data_2020 [Readonly] -> (.ndf) backup once at the end of the year

[PRIMARY FILEGROUP]