Index outside bounds of array when logging in

I have two virtual servers (old and new) and my local PC all running SSMS 2014 with no service packs. When I look at Help/About the version numbers are the same on all three. All three can connect to instances of SQL server on our domain. We also connect to a SQL server hosted by a vendor outside our domain.

On the old server and on my local PC I can connect to this hosted instance. On the new virtual server I get the error "Index was outside the bounds of the array. (System.Data)". I Googled this error and it seems as though it is a generic error that comes up for a lot of things other than SSMS logins. In fact, as a programmer I've experienced this error. I just don't know how it relates to SSMS logins.

The settings for the configuration managers are the same except the client protocols (e.g. TCP/IP, Named Pipes/ Virtual Memory) are in different order, but all are enabled.

Any idea what could be causing this?

Greg

===================================

Cannot connect to {remote host}.

===================================

Index was outside the bounds of the array. (System.Data)

Program Location:

at System.Data.SqlClient.TdsParser.ConsumePreLoginHandshake(SqlAuthenticationMethod authType, Boolean encrypt, Boolean trustServerCert, Boolean integratedSecurity, Boolean& marsCapable, Boolean& fedAuthRequired)
at System.Data.SqlClient.TdsParser.Connect(ServerInfo serverInfo, SqlInternalConnectionTds connHandler, Boolean ignoreSniOpenTimeout, Int64 timerExpire, Boolean encrypt, Boolean trustServerCert, Boolean integratedSecurity, Boolean withFailover, Boolean isFirstTransparentAttempt, SqlAuthenticationMethod authType)
at System.Data.SqlClient.SqlInternalConnectionTds.AttemptOneLogin(ServerInfo serverInfo, String newPassword, SecureString newSecurePassword, Boolean ignoreSniOpenTimeout, TimeoutTimer timeout, Boolean withFailover, Boolean isFirstTransparentAttempt)