Incremental bulk insert into table with auto generated "created date" and "modified date"

Right now I am doing a daily bulk insert of an csv file inside an SQL DB using the following script:

Truncate table [dbo].[Table];
GO

BULK INSERT [dbo].[Table]
FROM 'C:\BulkImport\Table.csv'
WITH (FIRSTROW = 2,
    FIELDTERMINATOR = ';',
    ROWTERMINATOR='\n');    
GO

USE DB;  
GO  
ALTER DATABASE DB  
SET RECOVERY SIMPLE;  
GO  
DBCC SHRINKFILE (dbo_Log, 1);  
GO  
ALTER DATABASE DB  
SET RECOVERY FULL;  
GO

As you can see I am first truncating the table, then inserting the data and shrinking the log for the database (the csv file I am inserting is quite large - approx 2GB of data, and after each insert the DB size kept increasing dramatically, shrinking the log file solves this issue but I`m not sure if this is good practice or not, I am fairly new to the SQL world).

Now I want to achieve 2 things:

• I realize that truncating the whole table and inserting back the data in the csv file is not good practice, so now I want to bulk insert the file inside the database incrementally, only for new or modified data (part of the data in the file changes retroactively).
  • to have created / modified date columns generated automatically upon inserting / updating data.

You definitely do not want to set recovery to simple as you will lose point in time recovery.
I have couple of systems where I have a separate database for staging tables which is always in simple recovery. ie The processes is:
1.Load data into the staging table in the staging database with something like BATCHSIZE = 50000 to keep the log fle under control.
2.Update the main table, in the main database, from the staging table. (The main database is always in full recovery.)
3.Truncate the staging table.

This also keeps the log backups of the main database at a reasonable size.

ps If you want to keep track of changes in the main table I would be inclined to make it versioned.

1 Like