How to get Merge Join to work for two different data sources in SSIS

Hello all,

I apologize in advance if I am posting incorrectly, I am new to SQLTeam :slight_smile: . I am seeking help with an issue I've been having in SSIS; I have been working on creating/loading data into a database for a school project and have been having some issues with Merge Join. I’ve researched many issues the others have had with Merge Join and typically solve my own problems but this one is a bit tricky. I’ve created an SSIS package that should pull a column from a table in Access (this column contains duplicate names to which I utilize a sort later on in the data flow) as well as pull another column from a table in my SQL Server database. For both of these OLE DB Sources I have tried using the simple method of selecting the table through the data access mode but I thought perhaps this was contributing to many warning messages because it would always pull everything from the table as opposed to the one column from each that I wanted. I am now using the SQL Command option with an extremely simple query.

SELECT DISTINCT Name
FROM NameTable