How to Backup SQL Custom Reports?

Hi Everyone,

New user here and, while I'm a seasoned Windows Server Administrator, I am an absolute SQL novice. The company I began working for recently uses a lot of different versions of SQL for different aspects of their business: My boss has specifically tasked me with finding out how to backup SQL custom reports. I guess before I began here they had a server fail. The SQL server instance was backed up using their Cloud Backup Service (as I understand it, we pay for an additional plugin specifically for backing up SQL instances), but upon restoring the instance the custom reports were never recovered. Is there a specific way to backup and recover these custom reports? They have done without them for now, but in the future we need to make sure the custom reports are backed up, as well.

If anyone can provide any advice on how to do this, where to look, or wants to explain SQL and custom reporting in layman's terms, I would appreciate any and all help or pushes in the right direction. If you need any specific info like the version of SQL, etc., I will try and get it and respond with that info.

So, I've done a lot more research and tied the custom reports to .rdl files. The problem I'm encountering now is that the .rdl files are not store locally on the server (and as such cannot be backed up), but are stored as a "BLOB" in the ReportServer database. I've found the link below, which describes how to download all of the .rdl files by using a script through PowerShell:

How to DL All Your RDL Files Using PowerShell

I also found this link, which describes backing up SSRS reports using the RS Utility:

Backup SSRS Reports using RS Utility