Help with linking two tables

Hi I am very new to SQL server and I have a somewhat basic question. I have created a program keeps a track of user performance. There are two tables involved - DeviceInformation which contains information regarding the device being used and what hand is used along with an autoincrementing Primary Key which is DeviceID. The other table is ResultsInformation which contains information such as time, and where was clicked and ResultsID Primary Key. So far data is being sent to both of these tables. However I was unsure about the best way to link these tables so that I can check how the user with DeviceID 1 has performed and how a user with DeviceID 2 has performed and so on and so forth. Any help would be appreciated.

You really need to provide DDL and Sample data so we can help. Use temp tables so we don't muck up our dbs trying to help with the solution.

Create Table #a (Field1, Field2, etc...)

insert into #a values (1,2,etc...)

For your example, how do the 2 table relate? Is DeviceID in both tables? if so, then join on DeviceID

Sorry I don't know if this will be of any useor not. Basically the way how I have it at the moment is with DeviceID being the primary key in deviceInformation and the foreign key in userResults. However this is always appearing as NULL in the userResults and I am unsure of how to fix this. My PHP at the moment for inserting into userResults is:

$sql = "INSERT INTO UserResults2(Xpos, Ypos, StartID, RandomID, TimeTaken )
     VALUES ('$Xpos', '$Ypos', '$StartID', '$Random', '$Time')";

However I am unsure if I am going about this in the correct way. Any help or advice will be appreciated, many thanks

I'd actually say that you should try doing a Join statement on the device ID # (i'm assuming that is the same data that is the primary key on both tables)

Meaning you'd get back
Device 1 : all the device info; all the user info