Go Easy on Me

HI Guys

I'm new to SQL (Like Really New) we have had an ERP at work for years and we can obviously pay the company to write our reports but this obviously comes at cost and also if you don't know what to ask then you don't know what you can get . So I though lets have a look and see what its about . So I'm trying to make a simple top 10 of products sold . Which I think I've managed what I don't seem to able to do is then get this into some sort of date range parameter

Any help greatly appreciated , might be trying to run before I can walk

Jon

Welcome to SQL Team young Jedi. Which of the tables have the date column you want to filter on?

Hi , the effective date is the date the invoice is raised on , and I would like to be able to filter that , as currently it appears it's looking at all products invoices since time began

Thanks in advance jon

I recommend you use GreaterThanOrEqual and LessThan (if you need an endpoint) tests.

If you use "text dates" then stick to 'yyyymmdd' as SQL will treat that as UNambiguous. If you go for '12/31/2016' then you are at the mercy of how SQL chooses to parse that date - and THAT depends on things like the Language setting for the currently connected user - which can obviously change!

For example based on SalesInvoices.EffectiveDate column:

FROM ...
WHERE SalesInvoices.EffectiveDate >= '20170101'
      AND SalesInvoices.EffectiveDate < '20180101' -- NOTE: One day PAST the end point
ORDER BY ...

We'd prefer that you post the SQL and the Data (rather than an image) then folk can Cut and Paste to give you answers, and if your question would benefit from testing we can check that our code actually works before posting it - which saves us both time.

```sql

... Your SQL code here

```

and

```text

... Any fixed-spacing text, such as results, here

```

Welcome to the wonderful, and oh-so-frustrating, world of SQL.

A few tips: