Extracting string and inserting into another column in another table

Hello All,

I am new to SQL. I need help with below.

I need to extract a specific text from a string in a table column (Log table) which is actually a date (InactivationDate) and there is a value after this in the string. I need to extract this date value and insert it into another column in another table where there is a column named InactivationDate.

Can you let me know how to do this?

Thank you

1 Like

You'll have to provide specific examples of the strings to be searched.
Otherwise, all we can do is point you to the documentation for string functions and wish you luck.

Okay, the Column name is LogRecordData which comes from a table named ContentLog. The Column LogRecordData starts and contains other texts including for e.g. 'InactivationDate: NULL -> 2023-12-20 07:55:29'. I need to extract the date portion after the text InactivationDate from here and insert it in to another column in another SQL table which has a column named InactivationDate. I hope this info is sufficient.

Regards

So you need '2023-12-20', and not the NULL or whatever might be in that spot if it's not NULL?

SELECT 
  LogRecordData
, CHARINDEX('-> ', LogRecordData) AS [-> Location]
, CONVERT(datetime2(0), SUBSTRING(LogRecordData, CHARINDEX('-> ', LogRecordData) + 3, 19)) AS [The Date]
FROM ContentLog;

Yes, I do not need the NULL (sorry for not making it clear in my reply), just the date without apostrophe symbol as well. Can I try the query provided by you.

Thank you

I used the query but got the below error message.

Msg 241, Level 16, State 1, Line 6
Conversion failed when converting date and/or time from character string.

Hi

Can you please let me know your answer.

Regards