Documentation of dependencies and Mapping Process

Hey guys, apologies if should be in a better place of forum. I've inherited some staff using SQL/SSIS for some data processing and am not by trade a SQL expert so flying a little blind.

Currently, one of our large processes, is spread across two servers. Currently Server A is used to pseudonomise data and do some processing before it's pushed to the Server B with further processing and end tables production. I need to move all processing from Server A in to Server B, leaving Server A, purely for the pseudonomisation routing.

I was looking to see if anyone could lend their thoughts on ground work we need to do, to scope things out. I was hoping to map out the flow from end tables on Server B, right back to the data being loaded on server A. What scripts/packages are run and effectively have a data flow map. Conscious also that I may need to identify dependencies etc before we start to make this move.

Happy to provide specifics if it would help, but wanting to minimise the pain and take any learnings from others before we commence the move. (Base documentation of existing process is naturally very scant)...

Thanks!

Only thought that I have is that if not already done OUTLAW! and 3 any 4 part naming (so that would be Database.Schema.Table and Server.Database.Schema.Table)

Create SYNONYMS instead so that

MyDataBase.dbo.SomeTable

becomes (using my own naming convention)

MyDataBase.SomeTable

If in the future stuff needs moving again you can just adjust the SYNONYMS rather than having to find all the places in the code where MyDatabase needs to change to SomeNewDatabaseName, and ditto for MyOtherServer changing to YetAnotherServerName

I don't use SSIS so don't know to what extent this is possible / matters in that context.

Thanks for the reply. Apologies for my ignorance, but why not

dbo.SomeTable

This is how most of the code is written.