Detail about query

Hi ,

I am new to SQL programming , we used one condition to retrieve the date as shown below.

isnull((select Top 1 CONVERT(Varchar(20),b.EffectiveDateTime,101)
from a_DSS.dbo.TempBedData b where b.VisitID = a.VisitID and b.EffectiveDateTime > a.EffectiveDateTime order by b.EffectiveDateTime),
CONVERT(Varchar(20),c.DischargeDateTime,101)) as LocationDismissalDate,

this is written by one of my colleague , I didn't understand this condition clearly but its working good for some data but for some data its not working..

can you explain this query what is trying to pull ?

Thanks,
Archana

Without the rest of the query I'm making the assumption that this is one data item returned in a larger SELECT statement. If so, this looks like something called a "correlated subquery". It means that you are using a second query to define some data and it somehow relates to the primary query. You can see that the VisitID and EffectiveDateTime fields are how these two relate. The subquery seems to be looking for the earliest Effective date which is larger than the primary query's Effective date. If there is no data that meets this criteria, use the Discharge date. Correlated subqueries run the risk of having poor performance.
You mentioned that the date is not always accurate but didn't say how it's wrong. Can you elaborate on that?

1 Like

Hi Stephen,

Yes it should return earliest Effective date which is larger than the primary query's Effective date . If there is no data that meets this criteria, this should use Discharge date .

For Example : If person XXX admitted in ED at - 5/17/16 at 09:30 am (This is nothing but Effective date for location ED)
Then we move the person 5E at 5/18/16 at 3:30pm (Effective date for location 5E)
Then he discharged from 5E location at 5/19/16 7:30am (This is discharge date)

So This is how my results should be