DBAs whats your daily routine? and Project management?

Heya! Long time lurker but new poster here....

I miraculously landed a DBA gig at a small bank (credit union) and so far I've been babysitting Automic jobs (report, data extract, FTP uploader job scheduler) while mentored by a well meaning but very scattered database administrator. I want to make a good impression because thus far in my career I've been mainly an application support analyst with an emphasis on database interaction and much earlier in my life I was a DBA for QA environment test floor so no production DB experience. Anyways back to the point, here's my daily routine so far. The RBDMS is MS SQL Server and Oracle .

• Verifying RMAN backups and syncs were successfully from the night before
  • Check Error logs for obvious errors and chase down rogue logins
  • Run a query to check database unused file size and logging the results to build a capacity trend
  • Monitor our job scheduler like a hawk

Question #1 Any other suggestions for my routine above?

Question #2 Is about project management

I've been here almost 3 weeks and it sounds like the place could use a good tracking system for coordinating maintenance, patching, and server updates. What system are you all using? Some kind of Agile setup? Crazy big Excel spreadsheets? A team of project managers?

Ty in advance hive mind!

Congrats on the new gig!

(very scattered database administrator. Yeah, that's what he/she said about you too :slight_smile: , remember technology is a just a tool, it comes and goes, people stay above all else respect people and collaborate with them.)

1. coffee in my robe (working from home)
  2. I use trello to keep track of my work. Create tasks
  3. Inventory of all of your sql servers and versions/patches. Could you consolidate
  4. Do you have a dev/qa/prod instances? do you need one
  5. Never/ever deploy to prod something you have not tested in pre prod