Data range needed for sql query

Hi all,
i have been lumped with a data extraction after our DB admin left in a hurry recently.
I am very new to this and just need a date range added to the following to produce output for this year, Jan 2016 to present day.
any help appreciated
SELECT dbo.Students.StudentNumber, dbo.CourseRegistrations.RegistrationDate, dbo.Sessions.Start, dbo.Courses.QualName, dbo.CourseRegistrations.CertNumber, dbo.Courses.CourseName, dbo.Competencies.UnitID, dbo.Competencies.Unit_Name
FROM (dbo.Competencies INNER JOIN dbo.QualComp ON dbo.Competencies.UnitID = dbo.QualComp.UnitID) INNER JOIN ((dbo.Courses INNER JOIN dbo.Sessions ON dbo.Courses.CourseID = dbo.Sessions.CourseID) INNER JOIN (dbo.Students INNER JOIN dbo.CourseRegistrations ON dbo.Students.StudentNumber = dbo.CourseRegistrations.StudentID) ON dbo.Sessions.CourseID = dbo.CourseRegistrations.CourseID) ON dbo.QualComp.QualName = dbo.Courses.QualName
WHERE (((dbo.CourseRegistrations.Active)=1));

cheers

I find all those nested JOINs a nightmare to decipher, might just be me though ... the code was probably mechanically-generated by something at some time.

I'm not convinced that the last set of nested joins is correct (well ... "optimal"), so I've made a small change and thus this suggestion needs testing

SELECT	STU.StudentNumber, CR.RegistrationDate, SESS.Start, COUR.QualName,
	CR.CertNumber, COUR.CourseName, COMP.UnitID, COMP.Unit_Name
FROM	dbo.Competencies AS COMP
	INNER JOIN dbo.QualComp AS QC
		ON COMP.UnitID = QC.UnitID
	INNER JOIN dbo.Courses AS COUR
		ON QC.QualName = COUR.QualName
	INNER JOIN dbo.Sessions AS SESS
		ON COUR.CourseID = SESS.CourseID
	INNER JOIN dbo.CourseRegistrations AS CR
		ON SESS.CourseID = CR.CourseID
	INNER JOIN dbo.Students AS STU
		ON STU.StudentNumber = CR.StudentID
WHERE CR.Active = 1;

The final nesting on your original code was:

INNER JOIN
		(
			dbo.Students AS STU
			INNER JOIN dbo.CourseRegistrations AS CR
				ON STU.StudentNumber = CR.StudentID