Data Corruption Issue Can anybody attach this MDF

Hello all, I am very desperate for a solution to this issue. I am an IT technician and I know nothing about SQL server but I accidentally overwrote the database that had all of a stores inventory with a blank database. There is no backup file and all I managed to salvage was the mdf before overwriting the database. The LDF no longer matches. I have pretty much gave my self a crash course on SQL trying to fix the database but have failed miserably. I have single handedly sent this business into the stone age and am desperate for help before they take legal action. Here is the link to the MDF in question

Somebody please help me :confounded:

Have you tried attaching the MDF file?

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms174385.aspx

If so, what messages did you get?

Even though it's probably obvious to you now, make sure you keep several copies of that MDF file handy. DO NOT try to attach or otherwise modify it until that's taken care of.

I suggest you read this article to get some background on how to proceed with a repair:

Paul has a lot more disaster recovery techniques if that doesn't help:

If all else fails, you may be able to browse a copy of the MDF file with this:

And don't lose hope! Paul mentions this guy:

And needless to say, if you do recover the database, BACK THAT UP IMMEDIATELY AND MAKE SURE THE BACKUP CAN BE RESTORED. You should also run DBCC CHECKDB to see if there's any corruption.

2 Likes

I've tried most of those and I keep getting stopped. I even had SQL Developers at my job try to assist me with this issue with no progress. I was able to restore an old back up from 6 years ago. However the prices are incorrect and there many items missing.