Create Login and User SQL Query

Hey all, I've got a question.

While I'm new to SQL Server, I'm an old hat at SQL in general with specific experience in Access and MySQL. Because of that, I figured it would be relatively easy for me to just jump in to a live environment and get started. Most of it has been editing/updating basic SQL queries...

Unfortunately, I'm NOT familiar with the way Logins and Users are created in SQL Server and am running into some trouble with my current task.

I need to create a SQL query that creates a Login and User and adds it to the 'public' and 'db_datareader' groups for a specific database.

From what I understand from the MSDN pages, the SQL query should be something like below:

CREATE LOGIN MyUser
	WITH PASSWORD = 'MyPassword'
	CHECK_EXPIRATION = NO
	CHECK_POLICY = NO;
USE MyDatabase;
CREATE USER MyUser
	FOR LOGIN MyUser
	WITH PASSWORD = 'MyPassword';
EXEC sp_addrolemember db_datareader MyDatabase;
GO

Is this correct?

The server this is going to be run on is running SQL Server 2008 which is why I used sp_addrolemember instead of ALTER ROLE in the query. If ALTER ROLE works in SQL Server 2008, I'd prefer to use it for forward compatibility.

It's the right idea. Syntax note:

EXEC sp_addrolemember 'db_datareader', 'MyDatabase';

Also note that you can grant login permissions based on Windows accounts. eg::

create login [domain\user] from windows

If you're managing a db with lots of users, it's often better to manage at the Windows group level. Same syntax as above but you only have to add the group once, then add users to the group

1 Like

Thanks for the reply! I'll go ahead and update my SQL Queries per your note.

I was using a database Login instead of a Windows Login because this is going to be an account use by a script that will be exporting data to a vendor (exports data to CSV, then transmits it using SSH to their server). In this situation would it still be better to use a Windows based Login?