Convert datetime column to text value in another column

Hi everyone,

Sorry for the (hopefully) easy-to-answer question, I am really new to SQL and haven't successfully been able to figure this one out yet!

The scenario is:

We have a datetime column (stat_date_time_resolved) and I am trying to grab the value in that column and convert it to a varchar value in a separate column (resolved month).

e.g. 1
stat_date_time_resolved = 2022-01-24 18:11:33.863
created month would = (1) January

e.g. 2
stat_date_time_resolved = 2022-04-13 04:33:11.732
created month would = (4) April

I need to update all records in our table with these month values. Can anyone start me off in the right direction please?

Welcome

the month() function would do that for you. But why are creating such a column, what is the business requirement/use case? What would happen if the original stat_date_time_resolved changes? Will you need to update this new column etc?

I would not recommend you do that.

Hey,

Thanks for the reply! The purpose of this is so we can report on a dashboard some year over year stats separated by month. Due to the limitations of the application front end that we're designing the dashboard in, we needed to capture the month (by name) in a separate column for each of the records in order to present the data in this manner.

Would you happen to have an example of the month() function for this particular use case? I understand the month() function will display the month as a numerical value, would it be possible to then display it as a text value as well?

As for if/when that original datetime column changes - we have something in the front end application that calculates the month for us in the separate column automatically. This process is simply to update records that were created prior to us building the calculation in the front end.