Confused about Joins

I'm a little new to sql that is this complex. Most of the stuff I have done is simple calls to single tables (or maybe 2). I have read the article here on groupby, and it seemed to get me close, but I am somehow still getting duplicate rows, and I am not sure why.

select 
cd.customer_id,
cd.bill2_name,
cd.bill2_csz,
h.total_lines,
h.total_sales,
h.total_cost,
h.total_sales - h.total_cost as Profit,
(h.total_sales - h.total_cost) / h.total_sales as ppct

from 
(select 
	customer_id,
	count(1) as total_lines, 
	sum(p21_sales_history_report_view.sales_price) as total_sales, 
	sum(p21_sales_history_report_view.cogs_amount) as total_cost 

from p21_sales_history_report_view 
where invoice_date between '2015-09-07 00:00:00.000' and '2015-09-08 23:59:59.999' 
group by customer_id
) h 
inner join
(Select
	customer_id,
	bill2_name as bill2_name,
	CONCAT(bill2_city,' ',bill2_state, ' ', bill2_postal_code) as bill2_csz

from invoice_hdr) cd
on h.customer_id = cd.customer_id

I get results that include the proper data (totals/etc are correct), but I get many duplicate lines of each. When I run the query for h (the table that pulls from the view) I get the data that I want without customer name/etc. h also does not have any duplication in it, so I know that part of the query is correct.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Also any other suggestions about better ways to do this are also welcome. It is basically a simple sales history report. The catch is that the customer data has to come off of the invoice, rather than from a separate table.

Thanks in advance
Josh Hawley

ps: I know that the dates are hard coded and ugly, they will be replaced with parameters when I get this working.

Without any example data, it is hard to say exactly why, but looks like you've started to do the right thing - break up the query into it's separate parts to check them

If you run the second sub query

Select
	customer_id,

from invoice_hdr