Column name repeats for all rows

Hello,

I imported a file called sanfranciscofilmlocations.csv and one of the column headings is "Release Year". I tried the following statement but it gives "Release Year" for all rows. Could you help me with fixing it?

SELECT "Release Year" FROM sanfranciscofilmlocations;

As far as I understood, column headings cannot include two or more words but has to be linked; eg. "Release_Year" instead of "Release Year". I also tried to change the .csv file in that way but couldn't save as a .csv.

I searched online to come up with a solution, but didn't find a method. Please note that I am new to SQL.

You can use spaces but only if you include the entire column name in " or [].

You can rename the column if you want to:

EXEC sys.sp_rename 'dbo.sanfranciscofilmlocations.Release Year', 'Release_Year', 'COLUMN'

Hi Scott,

Thanks for your reply. When I included the entire column name in " " as below, I still get the error as shown below the command.

Release Year
Release Year
Release Year
Release Year
Release Year

Following commands give the error in the command line itself.
SELECT [Release Year] FROM sanfranciscofilmlocations;

EXEC sys.sp_rename 'dbo.sanfranciscofilmlocations.Release Year', 'Release_Year', 'COLUMN';

first try this

SELECT * FROM sanfranciscofilmlocations;

Your QUOTED_IDENTIFIER setting is OFF (which is not good, not standard), therefore double quotes are taken the same as single quotes.

Use brackets instead:

SELECT [Release Year] FROM sanfrancisofilmlocations;

Hi Yosiasz,

The following worked.

SELECT * FROM sanfranciscofilmlocations;

But not this

Hi Scott,

How to turn on the QUOTED_IDENTIFIER?

I tried several options including SET QUOTED_IDENTIFIER ON

and SET QUOTED_IDENTIFIER { ON | OFF }

Both together and separately. But it gave an error.

Like this:

SET QUOTED_IDENTIFIER ON;

that is not a valid query. all it will do is return all rows with
"Release Year"