Cannot see shared datasets in Report Builder 3

I have SQL Server 2012 with SP 2 and Report Builder 3.0. I've created a shared data source in Report Manager, then created a shared dataset in Report Builder and saved into Report Manager. I can see the shared dataset in Report Manager and it does show the data source under dependencies as does the data source showing the dataset.

When I create a new report in RB, I add the shared data source, test connection and all fine. However, when I go to add a dataset, there is nothing listed in the shared datasets, even though I've created multiple.

If I create an embedded dataset everything is fine but need to use shared as I will be creating many reports. I am logged in as an administrator, my login has full permissions in RM, full access to the database from the datasource etc.

Why can I not see any of my shared datasets?

from Create a Shared Dataset or Embedded Dataset (Report Builder and SSRS)

we can see that: Report Builder ...

Shared datasets must use published shared data sources.

Have you published your shared data sources?

I'm an SSRS newbie my apologies. I created the data source directly in Report Manager, so I'm assuming that would publish it to Report Server. I can see it within Report Builder as well.

Is there a different way of creating the datasource? When I'm creating a report in Report Builder, click on Datasource, my shared datasource is listed.

You create shared datasets in Report Manager, not Report Builder. Once the shared datasets are published, you should be able to see them in Report Builder

How do you create a shared dataset in Report Manager? I only see the option to create a datasource. Everything I've read says to use Report Builder then click on create shared dataset. I am not using BIDS.

Sorry, I meant data sources. AFAIK there is no way to share datasets among report builder reports. You will need to use BIDS (SSDT since 2012) for that