Block all user connections to SQL Server?

I want to block all user connections during an upgrade to a server. Normally I would set the databases to DBO-Only but I need the SQL Agent jobs to run, and some are owned by non-DBO "accounts".

Is there something else I can do to prevent all externals connections? (Well ... perhaps not all ... I need to connect! although I can RDS into the box if that is the only way)

Perhaps I could change the Listening port to something other than 1433 - or would that cause me some other problem?

I have never tried this, but using a log on trigger might be an option. They specifically mention the following:

You can use logon triggers to audit and control server sessions, such as by tracking login activity, restricting logins to SQL Server, or limiting the number of sessions for a specific login.

I am not an expert and I have bookmarked this thread as I have wondered the same thing.

However I was just about to suggest what James did. But not as well informed.

What about setting deny access then grant? Depending on the number of logins you have.

Typically you change the DNS alias that points to the server to prevent access, let alone logging in. Of course that won't work if you don't have a separate DNS alias users use to reach the server.

I've been having a look at Login Trigger. Bit scary that I might lock everyone out, by accident ... myself included! (Although there is a rescue method for that eventuality I need to do this on a remote server and I'm not 100% sure I can connect myself as the right sort of Admin group as the domain that my login is provided by is a couple of steps removed ... )