Basic SQL Join Error -- HELP!

Hi I have a small database and basically what I want to do is create a new table that combines by date the data in MailOut_Data table and CPE_Invoice_Detail so that I get an output like the NEW TABLE example. Is there a way to do it?

I am also attaching the database setup (bottom right in image)

I have tried JOINS but are not getting anywhere, can somebody point me in the right direction. I am not an SQL expert but have basic knowledge.

Current SQL Statement

SELECT
[MailOutData.csv].[Quantity]
FROM
[MailOutData.csv]
LEFT JOIN [MailOutData.csv] ON [MailOutData.csv].[State] = [CPE_Invoice_Detail.csv].[Invoice State]

SELECT
[CID].[State],
[MOD].[Quantity],
[CID].[Invoice Date],
[CID].[Sales Price],
[MOD].[Quantity] * [CID].[Sales Price] AS InvoiceSales
FROM 
[CPE_Invoice_Detail.csv] [CID]
LEFT JOIN [MailOutData.csv] [MOD] ON [MOD].[State] = [CID].[Invoice State] AND
    [MOD].Date = [CID].[Invoice Date]
1 Like

Scott, thanks for the quick response. I tried running the query and getting an error stating that [CID].[State] is not declared in Table 'CID' so my new table needs to be named CID?

Nah, I used the wrong column name:

SELECT
[CID].[Invoice State],
[MOD].[Quantity],
[CID].[Invoice Date],
[CID].[Sales Price],
[MOD].[Quantity] * [CID].[Sales Price] AS InvoiceSales
--INTO dbo.new_table_name /* uncomment this line to create the new table */
FROM
[CPE_Invoice_Detail.csv] [CID]
LEFT JOIN [MailOutData.csv] [MOD] ON [MOD].[State] = [CID].[Invoice State] AND
[MOD].Date = [CID].[Invoice Date]

Scott,

Not sure I am getting the results as i wanted, is there something different we can try. I am trying to get the data in a table as the Desired Result image, however I am getting the data as in the Current Result Image

I think you went back to your original join on only state, and not my join on both state and date.