Basic Dynamic SQL question

I have N tables that is unknown before runtime with tablename always being tablename1, tablename2... tablenameN. The first column of each table is always Name. The challenge is to change that column name in each table to Name1, Name2.. NameN. I am new to dynamic sql, any help would be appreciated. Thanks

Something like this:

declare @i int = 1
declare @n int = 10

while @i <= @n begin
    declare @alter nvarchar(400) =
        'sp_RENAME ''tablename' + ltrim(str(@i)) + '.Name'', ''Name' + ltrim(str(@i)) + ''',''COLUMN'''
    print @alter
    exec sp_executesql @alter
    set @i += 1
end
1 Like

Thanking you for the swift reply. I'm going to have a go.

That worked, thank you very much. Appreciate it.

This is the code I have at the moment to bunch a group of tables into one mastertable joining on the filename column. The problem at the moment is that

select *
into dbo.mastertable

keeps repeating every time x increments by 1. Therefore SQL will throw an error complaining that the object mastertable is already in the database. How can I move it so that select * into dbo.mastertable is only run once while everything else loops?

DECLARE @x int = 1
DECLARE @y int = 100
Select @y = count(*)
from sys.tables
where sys.tables.name LIKE 'doc%'

DECLARE @sql AS NVARCHAR(MAX) = '
select *
into dbo.mastertable
from dbo.doc01 T1'
while @x <= @y-1
Begin

SELECT @sql =  @sql  + ' inner join ' + 'dbo.doc0' 
	+ ltrim(str(@x+1)) + ' T'+ ltrim(str(@x+1))+ ' on'  + ' T3' + '.Filename3' + 
	' = ' + ' T' + ltrim(str(@x+1)) + '.Filename' + ltrim(str(@x+1)) + ' '

print @sql
exec sp_executesql @sql
set @x += 1

End

you declare the variable @sql before the loop. then in every iteration of the loop you append an INNER JOIN to it and then execute the result. When @x = 1, there is one inner join; when @x = 2 there are two inner joins, when @x = 99 there are 99 inner joins. That can't be what you want.