Advice on where to start for a new SQL administrator/developer

Hi all,

I have a project which involves me taking 98-364, 70-461/2/3/4 & 5, I have completed 98-364 and 70-461 but looking forward my aim is as follows...

1. Learn about SQL Admin
  2. Learn about SQL Development
  3. Create a new database and a bespoke application to enable my employer to store property information including assets.

I need to start with a login and a menu, which i hope the courses will lead me in the right direction, but I am looking for some guidance into what I should be doing to start off with and any specific avenues I can pursue to achieve the above aims.

I am a developer in OpenEdge which although not common, it is a 4GL language which should lend me some good foundations to build upon.

Can anyone offer any advice or guidance on how I should be approaching this with regards to training and materials. and how best to learn and apply these skills to achieve the aims above?

Just my two cents... If you really want to work with relational databases and actually be good at it... Start with the two fundamental ideas that all of this is built on. Relational Algebra/Set Theory and Predicate Logic. Not to worry, you don't have to be a math genius to do this type work (it wouldn't though either), but it is important to understand that the relational model is based on actual mathematical models and the better you understand these models the better you'll understand proper database design (and vise versa). This one of those areas where abstract mathematical theory has direct application to the real world.

So... First and foremost... Learn the Normal Forms! I'm not saying you need to need to be able to write a PhD thesis on transitive functional dependencies... But you absolutely should know that that putting 3 different phone number columns on the Customer table IS NOT the proper way to deal with the fact that people tend to have more than one phone number.