SQL Project Design and Approach

SQL Server Project.

Hi
I am into a sql project. The project is scheduled to start during sept and is for a month duration. I am a beginner in sql, however I have experience in control system domain.
I can execute basic sql that are required, however this is for the first time I am going to be a part of full fledged sql project.
Can anyone help me in clearing few of my doubts.
Below are the details of the project.

******************** Brief about the project ********************

Live data from ground level instruments is coming via a scada application (which acts as a front end software) needs to be dumped on sql.
There are 8 machines from which data needs to be taken. Hence it has been decided to have 8 tables, 9th table will have consolidated data of all 8 tables.
After the data is collected, a report needs to be generated, one individual report for each machine. And a consolidated report for the all the machine.
We also need to have different authenticated levels for different users, and based on their login the user information ll be captured.

******************** Tools/Platforms that ll be used ********************

SQL SERVER 2008, SSRS Reporting tool

******************** Approach ********************

During the meeting with the client, it was decided first we ll make the database ready and deploy it on the production plant, thereafter we ll optimise the data once the needs arises in future. However I have explained this is not the correct approach as the data ll grow in size with a short time, as it has been found out during first stage analysis.

The data generated is huge, around a 1000 rows per machine/hr. So roughly speaking the calculation goes like (1000*24hours) = 24000 rows per day per tble. So in a months time the data will be very huge.

So I explained to them the contraints that we ll encounter in the near future & I have been asked to come with an alternate solution.