Move From SQL server 2014 enterprise edition to SQL server 2016 Standard Edition

Hi All,

My company decided to downgrade the SQL server instances from SQL server 2014 enterprise Edition to SQL Server 2016 Standard Edition in order to reduce costs.
as a DBA, I have several reservations and concerns:In this version I enjoy with some features that not supported on Standard Edition, for Example:

1. Snapshots DB's - Enterprise Edition
  2. Online Rebuild Index - a feature the supported only by Enterprise Edition
  3. AlwaysOn Availability(current, i have 3 Nodes in the HA), the Secondary Node can not use as read only
  4. partitioning - a feature the supported only by Enterprise Edition

Please, tell me some other things I did not think about.

in General, i think that it's very risky to downgrade from SQL server 2014 Enterprise Edition to SQL server 2016 Standard Edition.(does it Upgrade Or downgrade????)

please advise if it's possible or Not and if so, what other concerns i need to take in advance(in other words, why not to do it....)

NOTE: currently, we have 12 cores on Each Machine (very Expensive)

Thanks,
S

It is possible. I'd do this in two steps. First I'd upgrade to SQL Server 2016 SP1. They enabled more features in Standard in that release. Unfortunately not all the ones you have mentioned :slight_smile: Second, I'd downgrade from Enterprise to Standard. That's possible and very easy. There's an option in the installer to make the change. It is very quick. If anything breaks horribly you can always upgrade again -- though I haven't tried that.

As far as the justification for Enterprise, that's a little harder. Here are two articles that summarize the changes

As far as the features you mentioned..

1. Snapshots are in Standard now
  2. Online index rebuilds are not
  3. AGs I'm not sure -- either they are two node or not included.
  4. Partitioning - included