Merging 2 Databases..?

Morning all,

I have been asked to merge 2 databases. The 2 databases are located on 2 seperate servers, identical version of SQL and have an identical schema. Looking at it there are only a couple of tables that I'd need to copy over problem is they are relational.

i.e. 'employees' table has a primary key 'Emp_ID' which is linked to the 'notes' table so we know which notes are associated with which employee, hope that makes sense...

I've never done anything like this before, I'm not eve sure 'Merging' is the correct terminology. Any pointer and/or links to reading material would be greatly recieved.

Many thanks

Dave

this is gonna be fun, make sure to have a flask of whiskey under your desk
How much data do you have?

1. backup and restore each databases to new server
  2. when restoring make sure to name each restored database distinctly. maybe prefix with source server name
    server01Quattro
    server02Quanttro
  3. Create a brand new database and name it Quanttro for example
  4. Create all the necessary tables in this new database Quanttro
  5. Then use either SSIS or basic vanilla tsql to ingest into new database Quanttro a sort of ETL, keeping the relationships intact

Presumably the ID numbers allocated to Emp_ID in each, of the two, databases "overlap" and "clash"?

Winding the clock back it would have been better that one started at 100,000 and the other DB at 200,000 - but assuming that did not happen:

You could just "add" 100,000 (or whatever is "enough" to avoid any clash) to the Emp_ID from the database being imported to make them unique.

You could have to also add 100,000 to the Emp_ID in the Notes table, and so on.

You could also, perhaps?, make all existing IDENTITY "negative" on import. Personally I find having negative ID numbers is not idea - sometime people fail to see the "-" when they look at them ... and of course if they ACTUALLY appear on any End User reports that doesn't look very good!!